SEE ALSO: MLS Journals/Periodicals
SEE ALSO: Pathology e-Resources
SEE ALSO: Hematology e-Resources
—————————————————————————
Lab Tests & Protocols
Produced by the AACC; this site has been designed to help patients or family caregivers to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care, diagnosis, and treatment of a broad range of diseases. For medical professionals, this site can serve as a quick reference tool or as a resource for keeping up with advances in laboratory science.
Compilation of lab test databases around the world by the Australasian Association for Clinical Biochemistry (AACB)
Mayo Clinic Labs Interpretive Handbook
For the tests offered by Mayo Medical Laboratories, it provides interpretive guidance, along with necessary background clinical information to place the tests in proper context. The information for each test is prepared by a Mayo Clinic expert with direct oversight of that test.
Handy PDFs of Critical values for therapeutic drug levels, cut-off & toxicity levels for drugs-of-abuse testing, a table of critical limits, and a table of reference intervals from Medical Laboratory Observers.
Critical values for therapeutic drug levels
Handy PDFs of Critical values for therapeutic drug levels, cut-off & toxicity levels for drugs-of-abuse testing, a table of critical limits, and a table of reference intervals from Medical Laboratory Observers.
Cut-off & toxicity levels for drugs-of-abuse testing
Handy PDFs of Critical values for therapeutic drug levels, cut-off & toxicity levels for drugs-of-abuse testing, a table of critical limits, and a table of reference intervals from Medical Laboratory Observers.
Handy PDFs of Critical values for therapeutic drug levels, cut-off & toxicity levels for drugs-of-abuse testing, a table of critical limits, and a table of reference intervals from Medical Laboratory Observers.
Protocol Online is a database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. It contains protocols contributed by worldwide researchers as well as links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites.
MicrobeLibrary Protocol Collection
Common protocols in microbiology from American Society of Microbiology.
VADLO Life Sciences Search Engine: Protocols
Search VADLO for techniques, recipes, methods, procedures in molecular biology.
An e-journal founded in 2010 by a group of Stanford researchers to make life-science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high quality, open-access, life science protocols.
Calculators
Medical Calculators from Cornell
Includes dosing calculators, conversions, metabolic calculations, and respiratory calculations.
Images & Videos
American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank
ASH Image Bank is a Web-based image library that offers a comprehensive, growing collection of images relating to a wide range of hematology topics. ASH members and the hematology community can use images that have been peer reviewed by ASH. Image Bank slides are easily searchable and can be downloaded with one click. Users may create unique collections called My Collection.
Pictures show normal cells from blood and bone marrow and also a substantial variety of hematologic diseases.
A peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology. Both the Gallery and Visual Media Briefs include:
- Stained microscopic images of microorganisms using all types of optics;
- Electron micrographs of microbial and cellular structures;
- Macroscopic images of colonial morphology;
- Time-lapsed photography of microbial and cellular interactions; and
- Animations of microbial and cellular processes.
Pathology Education Instruction Resource (PEIR) Digital Library
Pathology images, searchable by keyword.
Professional Organisations
Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria
Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria
American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC)
American Association of Bioanalysts (AAB)
American Association of Blood Banks (AABB)
American Medical Association (AMA)
American Medical Technologists (AMT)
American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS)
American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP)
American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
American Society of Cytopathology (ASC)
American Society of Hematology
Association for Molecular Pathology
Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
Association of Genetic Technologists
Center for Disease Control’s Division of Laboratory Systems
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute
Clinical Laboratory Management Association (CLMA)
College of American Pathologists
Commission on Office Laboratory Accreditation (COLA)
National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS)
National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST)
National Integrated Accreditation for Healthcare Organization (NIAHO)
